Roadsafe Driving Academy Policies
Students must be at least 15 years of age, the day they start the course. Driving is an adult responsibility. Student conduct is expected to be positive and non-disruptive. Unless specifically noted with the individual student, driving lessons will usually begin and end at the driving school. Students who miss more than 3 classes will be dropped from the drivers education program and will have to restart the program. Students who do not complete the drivers education program within 15 weeks will be dropped and must restart the program and pay a reinstatement fee. Students who feel that 6 hours of driving lessons with our instructors is not enough may choose to pay $60 an hour for additional driving time. Students will be charged a $60 fee for missing a driving appointment that is not canceled within 24 hours of scheduled lesson. By law, students must have their permit in their possession for all driving lessons or they will not be permitted to drive and charged a $60 fee for missing the driving appointment. No refund will be given after first day of the class.
Frequently Asked Questions
HOW CAN I MAKE A PAYMENT?
Payment is due in full at the time of registration. We accept debit, credit cards, and bank transfers via PayPal online. Call our customer center for details at (206) 556-3724.
HOW DOES PAYPAL’S “PAY IN 4” WORK?
Check out PayPal’s “Pay in 4” page designed just for this information by clicking here.
WHAT TYPE OF CAR IS USED FOR DRIVING SESSIONS?
At Roadsafe Driving Academy we believe that the quality and safety of the vehicles we use in our program is our top priority. Each Roadsafe Academy car is clean, smoke-free and in excellent mechanical shape. For our driving lessons, we have chosen high-quality cars that offer excellent visibility and are fun to drive.
IF I AM LATE FOR CLASS OR NEED TO LEAVE EARLY, IS THAT OKAY?
Roadsafe Driving Academy follows the state requirements very closely.
- Students are NOT allowed into the classroom more than ten minutes late.
- Students can NOT leave early from class.
- Students can NOT miss more than 3 classes, according to the Department of Licensing policies.
WHAT KIND OF TESTING DO YOU OFFER?
We administer knowledge resting and road testing to our teens, adult students, and the general public.
What is a Washington license number?
When you get a Washington state ID card, a permit, or a driver’s license, you’ll have this number at the top of your card. Since 2018, the license number format looks like this: WDL433DAD43B. Everyone’s number now starts with WDL (which is the abbreviation of Washington Driver License).
What are the required steps to get a driver’s license in Washington?
16 – 17 years old: Must complete Driver’s Ed program, and at least hold the learners permit for six months, be at least 16 years old, and passed the knowledge & driving tests.
18 years or older: must pass both knowledge & driving tests. A permit is required if driving lesson practices are needed but, if you are prepared for skills test, then we will provide temporary permit for driving test purpose only, before conducting the driving test, no need to buy a permit.
What is on the license tests? How do I prepare?
Knowledge test: This test consists of 40 questions, and you must answer at least 32 of them correctly to pass with 80%. We are only permitted to offer the test in written form (no computers). The most effective way to prepare is to read the State Driver’s Guide, which is free.
Driving test: The skills exam takes about 16-22 minutes and it covers important maneuvers so, prepare yourself well. No freeway includes in the skills test Learn more.
How do I get my permit?
If you are 15-1/2 years of age or older – Simply pass the state knowledge test then apply at the DOL for a permit. Currently, you can schedule an appointment to get an instruction permit, or get a non-photo instruction permit through License Express. You can take the test as long as you are 15 years old, but must wait until you are 15-1/2 to get the permit issued.
If you are already enrolled in a driver’s ed program – You can get a permit through the “waiver” process, which exempts student from taking knowledge test first. students will have to take the test after completing classroom portion. You can enroll in a driver’s ed program as long as you turn 15 years old.
The waiver process are done in the following steps:
Step one: Sign up for the Washington license number. If you have a WA state ID card, no worries, you already have this number (WDL).
Step two: Provide us the license number (WDL), and we let the DOL know that you are enrolled in a course.
Step three: Get your waiver permit ten days before class start date. you can either print out your non-photo permit at home online through License Express, which permit card will be mailed within two weeks, or make an appointment at a DOL office to have your photo taken in person. You will pick you temporary paper permit and the card will be mailed to you within two weeks as well.
What type of ID do I need to bring for the tests?
A photo ID is required to take a license test. It must be an original document, not just photo. Photo ID issued by a school or government entity should work, including student ID cards, passports, I-9 paperwork, permanent resident cards.
When you go to the DOL to get a permit or license, you may need more documentation to prove your identity. You can find the complete list on the DOL’s website.
What is your cancellation policy?
Cancellation must be made at least 24 hours prior to your driving appointment.
Rescheduling made less than 24 hours prior to your driving appointment will result in $6o fee.
No show to your driving appointment will result $ 60
No show to your driving skills appointment or being more than 15 minutes late will result in automatic forfeiture of the whole payment amount.